Annual banquet celebrates team, individual achievements


Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The annual Mount Carmel football banquet took place on Sunday, December 9 at Chateau Del Mar in Hickory Hills. Over 300 student-athletes, parents and coaches gathered to celebrate a successful season.
This past season, all three levels of Mount Carmel football – varsity, sophomores, and freshmen – were conference champions in the Catholic League Green.   This marked the first time in 21 years that the program took conference honors at all three levels.
Athletic Director Dan Lacount was the master of ceremonies for the banquet, assisted by Mr. Mark Antonietti and other coaches, who presented the athletic letters and numerals, as well as individual awards.  Freshmen players earned their class numerals, while sophomores received the small “c” and varsity players the large “C.”  Second year varsity players added a bar to their letter.
Before introducing the outstanding players at each position, Coach Antonietti lauded the entire team for the pride with which they played all season, noting, “The price of pride is sweat, pain, courage.”
Coach Dave Lenti added a compliment to this year’s seniors, who in his opinion had “IT” – the indefinable quality that separates great teams from others.  According to Lenti, “What this group of seniors had was grit.”
The individual awards for outstanding offensive players went to receiver Tony Livermore, offensive lineman Jalen Grant, and offensive back (quarterback) Rad Premovic.
Individual awards for outstanding defensive play went to defensive lineman Dominic Barbosa, defensive back Cade Walsh, and cornerback Eddie McGee.
Demetrius Rias was named Defensive Champion for his outstanding work with the Scout Team, while Felipe Martinez was named Offensive Champion for his work on the other side of the ball.
Sean McCabe was recognized with the Lunch Bucket award, in recognition of his daily dedication to his job.
Several players were honored with the “Order of the “C,” representing “Courage, Class, and Commitment.”  That group included Koron Walker, Gino Antonietti,  Marcelo Mendiola, and Patrick Szczesniak.
The Kevin Dowling “Mr. Hustle Award” went to Kieran Conjar.
Finally the Most Valuable Player on the 2018 Caravan was Matt Lenti.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email